The unkindest cut

Monday morning, a good friend of mine, J, met me at a cafe’. We talked about stuff, and then he mentioned that C, a mutual friend, had said that ” a friend of hers”, hadn’t dated in months and then the first guy she goes out with rapes her, and wow, what a lesson to learn. I froze, my heart went into palpitations, and I could feel my blood pressure begin to climb.
It was then I looked into J’s eyes and said that she was talking about ME. He was shocked, apologetic, and utterly upset that he had been the bearer of such news. We talked about it for awhile, and I told him there was no way in hell I couldn’t confront her over this. I mean, she said this at a party, in front of other people, and it was the most sacred of secrets I asked her (and she promised) to keep. Well, now I know what her word is worth.
I am trying to grasp what this means, for me, for the future.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

