90 days

Well, its been 90 days and contrary to what I was told, no one ever called to tell me my rape kit was expiring. It makes me so sad to realize that once I left that prosecutor’s office back in May, they just got rid of everything. All of it was for naught.
I still had to make the effort, prove to myself that I was worth a damn. And now, I don’t even know if I will be attending a survivor group, if it will come to fruition. Did it really happen? Was this all just an exercise in futility?
I can’t tell you how disappointed in “the system” I am. It makes me almost catatonic pondering on how idealistic I was.
The call/text blocks have expired. And in those 2 days, I have not heard from him. Don’t think I will, either.
A few weeks ago, I left the meetup group I was in with C. The thought of running into her again was too much to take, and I felt pressured into making a concession with her. Fuck that.
I did something else. I fostered a puppy, saved a life. I went on a date last week. Got a massage Monday and last night took my little one to see the stars.
Putting it back together one step at a time. This is not going to be the end of me. Its a new beginning.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

