Freed

I got a note in my box from someone I’ve been at odds with for awhile. I was holding onto this resentment & letting it fester. My reasons were just enough.
She betrayed me on a deep level, and it hurt so much and was a surprise. I confronted her immediately, but she begged off responsibility and issued an ultimatum, cowardly and cheap.
I was recovering at home from being beaten up, on pain meds, and had told her I needed to take a break. She decided that wasn’t good enough.
Well, the way this worked out was I told her our friendship was over, and went into a small high, then a crashing depression that lasted until 2 days ago when I got her note.
She was happy, giddy, clueless. I had thought that certainly the blame, the casual tossing out of such a hurtful event in my life would indicate a cruel nature, an underlying anger towards me. But, no.
I finally let go, and informed her of how her actions had hurt me, and what I was going through at the time. And that I could never trust her again. I wasn’t nasty, I was plain and straight to the point.
She actually took it well, praised me highly and wished me the best. Confused, a little guilty, I thought upon this. This ended pretty well, in fact I felt good inside! Why???
But my answer was simple. She didn’t value my shared confidence; that’s why it was so easily bandied about at a party. She didn’t mean any ill will, but the meaning I held for what I told her was held as a juicy bit, and she reacted like a defensive teenager when confronted. How could I remain angry at that? Clearly the significance of what close friendship means is as different as night and day. Now if only I had known that before.
I feel so freed now, the anger, depression and guilt have slid away. Where before I was convinced that she had it out to get me, I now see that was not the case at all. Five seconds after she had hung up the phone, she was onto something else. Lesson learned: don’t hold onto resentment. You can’t soar with a millstone in your gut.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

