I like to move it

I have lost 10 pounds now and feel like a million dollars. But it’s not all about the scale. The amount of stress relief I feel is incredible. And, I’ve been having a lot of fun with food, too. Even my daughter’s lunches are getting healthier, too. She loves the wraps I’ve made for her. And I’ve made a promise to myself that I’m not going to let this weight come back on once Ive reached goal.
Some challenges are my plantar fasciitis. It developed in November last year, and I thought I had broken my foot. It knocked me off my game for awhile, until I rested and did alternate exercises and got better footwear.
I was still shaken, though. I loathe pain pills and didn’t like the rolling foot stretches, so I opted to use hiking boots with gel inserts on the treadmill. It worked, and after awhile, I picked up some new cross trainers for the gym.
I feel the difference in my body and my clothes are fitting better.
In fact, I’m down a size. Comfortably 16. Soon, I’ll be shopping for newer sizes ( and hitting up the tailor).
In so many ways, I’m freeing myself from the past. I’m glad I confronted that friend, sorted out a lot of sordid feelings and hurts, and bravely, irresistibly moved forward.
Eating was a way of comforting myself from the stress and non-confrontation. Better to hash it out no matter how uncomfortable that makes you feel, as long as its not done in a mean context. Life’s too short to hold it in. I’m glad I did speak my mind.

So I’m doing cardio-legs, cardio-arms alternating days. Frankly, since I’ve replaced workouts for bad habits, there’s so many activities I want to try.
And did I mention I’m entering a 5k?

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

