First day in a 14

I bought a dress last weekend that at first, I wasn’t sure about. Oh, it was lovely, looked like a dream, but I wasn’t quite sure if it was a now dress or a goal dress.

Well, it fits…very well I must say. I’m thrilled! I haven’t been in a size 14 in 15 years! I keep reminding myself to give credit where it is due, but then it’s looking back at me in the mirror!

I’m still training for that 5k, and I’m just chomping at the bit to get started. Sometimes it’s hard to sleep. This journey is more than a “look”, or a fitness routine. It’s really about reclaiming my life, and staving off the illnesses that have ravaged my family. Heart disease, diabetes…it’s easy to say no to chocolate cake when I picture my dad struggling up a flight of stairs, or me after my baby, unable to get groceries in the house without huffing and puffing, seeing stars. I’m worth more than that, dammit.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in weight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

