What’s in a BMI?

Well, today is a height-weight chart analysis I’ve been waiting for. When I started out, and I did in 2007, I was 245. I remember seeing the numbers and then sinking to my knees in panic. I was a size 22. In 2008, I got on the scale at Weight Watchers and was 220. My body mass index, or bmi was 35.5. I have been in the obesity category for years. And it pains me, because as a kid and into my adolescent years, I was thin. But after college and when I began to work and got a car, I wasn’t quite as active.
I could blame it on a lot of things, but to be honest, a lot of it was apathy and laziness. Now, it’s about priorities.
Today, I am 186. My bmi is 29 which puts me in the “overweight” category. I’ve never been so happy to be here. Not stopping now, I want to see what a normal bmi feels like. Bet it’s better than a chocolate bar. 🙂

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

