Parallel play

I am enjoying these Olympics more than any other, because I am an athlete along with them. When the men’s gymnastics was on, I did a handstand in my living room against the wall. During the women’s, a few yoga moves. It’s fun. And my daughter and I get to challenge each other. I also completed “The Crow”, a weird looking yoga move where your feel come off the floor and you balance your knees on the back of your arms.
I used to watch people jogging through my neighborhood morning and night. To me, they were crazy. Who would choose to do this? What made them do it? Some unseen force?
Now I’m out there too, mostly on the weekends, since I do gym work during the week. I take one day off, Friday.
The unseen force pushing me is my own will, my core values. I have set the bar higher, a lot more so than before. In 2002, I was 245. Now I am more than half that down. Not done yet.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Body Issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

