In the pool

I hate the awkwardness of dating. Mostly what I dislike are the stupid rules built around this convention. If I get told one more time not to chase a guy/pursue/ask, well I’m just going to ignore that.

It doesn’t apply to the situation of late anyway, but its worth mentioning anyway because I can’t stand the conventionality of rules/dating.

I used to go to a chain massage place near me and met a massage therapist I liked. S. and I were friendly, but the last time we saw each other I told him I was leaving the place and does he do work in the side? Heh, I was actually in like with him and just wanted to get to know him in a less “professional” environment. Well, he handed me off his number and we were chatting. Last week, he asked me out.

The date went nicely, I figured he was a vegan, with the part of India he was from, so I set us up at a local vegeterian restaurant. He loved it. I got the bill, breaking a long tradition of reaching into my purse for a lipstick while the guy paid.

Seems when I arrived at his place, his roommate was abruptly moving out. I didn’t know what to think of that, but I sensed his apprehension about heading out. He gave me a massage and we went out. All seemed to he going well, but at the end of the night, he wouldn’t kiss me. Pound the alarm .

He turned his head and pointed to his cheek. “Next time,” he said. And since then I have not heard from him. I wanted to text ‘hey, what’s up with the silence?’ But that’s a clingy insecure thing to do, and I’m sure if would only make me look stupid.

Besides, I did break down and text : days after, ‘cold tonight keep warm’. And again, chilling silence.

It’s my first first into dating since I took a sabbatical to regain my footing. I’m just disappointed because I really liked this guy, and he was a rare find, meaning that most of my experiences have been with online dating.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

