Injured list

Saturday, I woke up pumped for Zumba class. I went there, worked it, but towards the end of the class, I began to get increasingly dizzy. When I left the floor, I reached for my water and blacked out.
I came to, disoriented, bleeding, and in pain. I had fainted, hit my head, and was sent to the ER.
I had sustained a laceration to my forehead, lip, badly bruised my knees and hands, and banged up my face.
The second day was the awakening to pain and soreness. Today, I am still feeling weak and limit my activities ( hard for someone who is used to being on the go and working out 6 times a week) plus parenting/sports.
I’m realizing that I’ve been rushing, my mind has been on high stress alert, and I slough off compliments. I haven’t felt enough. I don’t feel like I can admit my accomplishments and celebrate them, because I don’t want to until I’ve reached my goal weight.
But is that what’s this journey’s all driven by? When I started out, I just wanted to get healthy. And I am. I don’t want to believe that, at 173 pounds I’ve arrived.
What’s wrong here? I did raise my original goal to 155. So that would make 17 more pounds to goal. But I must stop and relax into this new me. I actually panic inside when I get appreciated about my new figure.
I’m going to meditate on this. Because this fall, the erratic heart rate that followed, is a wake-up call.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

