Back on track

Mid-February, I started to notice something. I stopped getting dizzy upon exertion. I began to increase my time gradually, re-accustom myself to the feeling of sweat, the headlines of hard aerobics, the joy of blood pounding throughout my body…the utter rush of accomplishment.
Now, in March, I allowed myself to understand how I blocked my own progress by being impetuous.
I counseled someone a few days ago that the hardest thing about losing weight is time. Accepting that it will take more than effort of will with food and exercise is fundamental to longevity of your goal.
For me, I chose not a size or image, but an internal model of health. I’ve seen people choose the knife over common sense efforts to weight loss, and it scares me. I don’t want to be in debt for an image, I want to be beautiful through health. Diabetes runs like a dark secret river through my family’s history, and I’ve seen it wreak havoc with plenty of people I care about.
I will move heaven and earth to prevent it from taking a foothold in my life.
But these things take time. It’s almost been a year. I’m still not at goal, but I’ve re-awakened. And I’m breaking through my setbacks. I’m close to breaking this weight plateau. I will do it.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

