Come about

I needed some time off to clear my mind, my plate and reorganize. This summer, I took a chill pill, stopped the hateration bus, and went on vacation…with my ex-husband and our daughter. I was more fun than I can possibly tell you. And its good to see that what fell apart years ago in a wash of anger, toxicity, and mistrust has settled down and remained as a good partnership.

I put on a few pounds, and enjoyed the ride. I returned to my former Zumba class, decided it wasn’t for me anymore, and left. And didn’t feel guilty about it. A lot has been put into perspective by a co-worker who’s struggling with cancer. The gist of her message was that you don’t know how long you’ve got, no matter how long you’ve slaved away and sacrificed for your retirement. She most likely isn’t going to see it, and her words reminded me of that song from Rent, no day but today.

I joined a Weight Watchers at Work meeting and the first week I lost 1.6. I hadn’t been able to do that all summer. And can I just say how important community and support are? Thank you.

I’m about to go to a book group meeting tonight that was a comedy of errors when I took the reins for this month. I gave out the wrong book title, so half the people have read one title and the other half read the leader’s selection. All of this because once again I have taken on too much. I’ve been with them for 2 years and it started out with a control freaky leader who abruptly left a few months into this new meetup without any reason given, and I and another person took over and began organizing it. She’s done most of the organizing and I know my mistakes this month have really galled her, but I’m human. And I’m a busy working mom with a kid involved in sports and activities. This group is NOT the center of my life. It is one facet in it.

Over the years, I’ve come to accept that meetups grow and some die, and you join then you leave. It is the way of life. I hope for the best tonight but I am not sticking around for negative drama.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in changes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

