Positive evidence diary

I am using an app and it is helping me with my depression. One of the things it asked me to do was to create a list of positive things that I am doing throughout the day. I am surprised not only at how little work this was but also how much progress it makes me realize I have made. I bested my personal time with regard to the amount of steps I do a day from barely making 8502 making over 16,000.
Along the way I have noticed, that when doing new things to make way with depression, it seems like the smallest task can feel so overwhelming.  Which is why I am glad that this app has allowed me to take stock of my activities over time and that is gradually asked me to increase activities.  Recently, I have become aware of my fear of social interactions with new people in a big group. I normally I’m very outgoing with people, but when I am in larger group I experience anxiety, and also when attending new events, I feel afraid and a bit claustrophobic.
It’s taking me time to realize that I’m very comfortable with my normal pattern. In fact, when I watch the movie Her, it made me aware of how similar I am to the main character. In that regard, I am often stuck with my  comfortable ways, and don’t want to come out of those. It takes awhile for me to make a new change.  What I tend to do is awfulize it and project fears of what the new changes are going to entail, and I remain stuck in a holding pattern of fear.  So, I am glad that I’ve broken through a wall, and then moving forward this will continue.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

