Philosophizing in Starbucks

I’ve kinda made a change this Lent.  Decided to go Facebook – free and have kept my promise,  mostly.  I’ve had to boast post when my daughter made the honor roll for the first time and her basketball team won their championship game.  Both times,  I asked myself am I just being part of the meeeee first culture,  or is this a genuine time to let it out. Since I have been pretty depressed this winter,  lacking in good fortune and being stuck,  I figured it was time. 
I am reading a great book,  similar to Wild.  It’s titled Walking Home by Sonia Choquette, and in it she says a very powerful prayer,  one of releasing a lot of negativity,  and an intention to release past tensions, things,  relationships.  I felt so moved that I recited it as well,  and felt something fundamentally move inside, a shift.  And I did a few things that sorely needed doing. 
I left a very unsatisfying part time job that was under paying me,  undermining my potential,  and creating a rivalry between a close friend.  Out. Done. 
Then I cut loose a co-worker I was carpooling with.  He was not paying me and being disrespectful by repeatedly telling me last about changes in his schedule,  leaving me to wait. There’s a personal aside to this as well.  He had abused our friendship and kept trying to manipulate me into being a

side piece.  So,  I shut that door fast. 
I’ve made some inroads towards things I want to do,  like writing,  submitting a post for publication (and getting turned down).
So I’m really relating to this book,  and this woman’s search for a more spiritual path.  I am on my own as well. 

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

