Success and then some 

My first weigh-in & I’m down 4.2. Rawr!! I was super nervous about a party I was going to, in fact I was going to not go, but I decided that if I’m really serious about this life change I need to go to places where food choices and situations won’t always be catered to me. And so I went to this party and I had quite an awakening. I mostly drink sparkling water and then I had a glass of wine. The world didn’t end. 

I even tried dessert. And I stuck to fruit and that was it. I did try some other desserts but I only had one bite of each and threw them out. That was my choice I didn’t do it because I thought that I had to. I didn’t want to finish them. And that is quite an epiphany.

I watched he saw other women eating and drinking and excusing their behaviors while lamenting the fact that they need to lose weight. I thought that doing those behaviors would’ve been in direct contradiction to what I am trying to accomplish. If I want to avoid diabetes, I’m going to do it. I don’t want to go back. I have been worried that my attitudes may get me into a situation where I am orthorexic . 

I’m also worried about what triggers will set me off on a binge. I did try some pizza this week but it was vegetable and organic. In the past, I have a list of foods that were off-limits. At least for a little while I wouldn’t eat them. Now, I find the focus is more on what will keep me healthy. And that has made all the difference.

It’s much easier now to avoid sugar, dairy, processed foods, even pork. I’m hopeful. 

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Animal rescue, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

