The weirdness that is Covid

It’s so strange living in these pandemic times. I don’t know why we didn’t see this coming. I had H1N1 back in 2009, it was rough but I got through it. I can’t tell you how scary it is to see people in my own age group (50s) felled from this virus.

And strangely, a few weeks ago I had a text from someone who is an acquaintance telling me that my former friend got this. I felt stunned, it was shared in a gossipy way “I know you don’t talk to her anymore, but I just thought you should know.” Ok. I just realized that this person I’d casually chatted with must still be in the loop with her, so my info must’ve been shared. I felt an electric shock like when you know an abuser has your address. It jolted me. Can’t trust that acquaintance, so I said nothing. Detach.

I feel so bad for my kid who is about to graduate & has to sacrifice those precious moments to this thing. I’m so glad she has a future lined up with a great university. She’s looking ahead, which is hopeful. But this staying inside is bad for her, she’s desperate to communicate with her friends. I have begun to realize we are not just staying home for a month or (two mandated now), but longer. How is this going to impact her mental health?

I’m fortunate enough to be able to go into work every day, not one of the many furloughed or laid off, the rest working from home. It’s a strange experience, seeing so many off the road, the quiet commute there & back. All these Zoom meetings I go to.

Still, I have hope.

About downszdiva

Freelance writer, blogger, foodie. Ph ilosopher, Jersey girl (not to be confused with the 'shore'). Pet sitter, lover of strong coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment